Dev Retro 2022

Dev Retro 2022

Β·

2 min read

Hello, Hashnoders! πŸ‘‹

As 2022 draws to a close, I will reflect on my year. Using the question-and-answer format, I will discuss my journey as a developer in 2022.

Let me begin by congratulating everyone who graduated or got a job this year. My congratulations are extended to everyone who pushes themselves to get up every morning and face life. I hope that next year will be kind.

Collins, what has your year been like?

I've been fortunate in 2022. Six months after graduating from Moringa School, I landed my first job at a fintech startup company. I work with a company that aims to make digital payments more accessible and flexible for consumers and merchants. We try to improve users' digital payment experiences by offering instant financial account creation, money transfers, and bill payments.

This year, I finally ended my imposter syndrome after believing that the time wasn't yet right.

Has there been any progress?

Since I got my first job, everything has changed. I got the opportunity to be a part of a team and be involved in how we can change people's lives using technology to ease financial access for customers.

Coding-wise, I studied in-depth and learned on the fly about writing code for a fintech company, and it was sometimes frustrating. Having had a great year, I can't wait to see what 2023 has in store for us.

This year, what are the biggest lessons you've learned?

It's been a fascinating learning experience to learn about the Fintech World, and specifically how to start a fintech company in Kenya. The Central Bank of Kenya (CBK) regulates fintech companies in Kenya through the Banking Act, the Financial Institutions Act, and the Payment Systems Act.

The CBK also issues guidelines and regulations specifically for fintech companies. Fintech companies in Kenya are required to obtain a license from the CBK in order to operate. The specific license requirements will depend on the type of fintech business and the services it offers. In addition to obtaining a license, fintech companies in Kenya are also required to comply with various other regulations, including anti-money laundering and counter-terrorism financing regulations, data protection regulations, and cybersecurity regulations.

Keep an eye out for my next post about Finance Technology (FinTech) in Kenya

Tell us about any challenges you encountered

Fintech startup companies can be challenging to work for. There were long hours and tight deadlines to meet. Partners' or legal requirements may force us to change our sprint goals.


Please check out https://github.com/l00pinfinity/blog-stories. It contains my blog posts online, do you have any suggestions? A correction, perhaps? Make a pull request on Github or open an issue.

Thanks for reading and stay tuned!!!

Β